Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Chester County)

Question Buying Advice for a Newbie

I'm new to shooting clays and I have a shotgun question. I currently have a 12 gauge Ithaca 37 that has interchangable barrels. One barrel is 26" (IC choke), which works well for sporting clays. The other barrel is 30" (full choke), which works well for trap. Thus, I can shoot either clays or trap with the Ithaca, but because it is a field gun, it kicks like a mule and my shoulders are a little sore after 100 rounds.

I'd like to get something more comfortable to shoot and I'm thinking of a sporting semi-automatic in 12 gauge or 20 gauge.

Is the recoil of a 12 gauge semi-automatic considerably less than the recoil of my Ithaca? If so, I could get a 12 gauge and shoot clays and trap comfortably. If not, should I move to the smaller 20 gauge for clays and maybe look for an O/U for trap? Any advice? Thanks.

(Montgomery County)

Default Re: Buying Advice for a Newbie

Quote Originally Posted by carbine-13 View Post
    I'm new to shooting clays and I have a shotgun question. I currently have a 12 gauge Ithaca 37 that has interchangable barrels. One barrel is 26" (IC choke), which works well for sporting clays. The other barrel is 30" (full choke), which works well for trap. Thus, I can shoot either clays or trap with the Ithaca, but because it is a field gun, it kicks like a mule and my shoulders are a little sore after 100 rounds.

I'd like to get something more comfortable to shoot and I'm thinking of a sporting semi-automatic in 12 gauge or 20 gauge.

Is the recoil of a 12 gauge semi-automatic considerably less than the recoil of my Ithaca? If so, I could get a 12 gauge and shoot clays and trap comfortably. If not, should I move to the smaller 20 gauge for clays and maybe look for an O/U for trap? Any advice? Thanks.

Generally speaking, semi auto's have less recoil, as the action is cycled, a bit of the recoil is sucked up in this process... how much... depends.