Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Philadelphia County)

Default Can you shoot geese & ducks over land with lead shot while small gaming?

My father and I have been talking about this for a few years. He says you can't hunt waterfowl with lead shot and I agree. But what about when you are out for rabbits, pheasants etc., you have your duck stamp, and waterfowl happen to fly over in shooting range. Is it legal? I'm not hunting waterfowl but cicumstances bring them in range. Any opinions?

Default Re: Can you shoot geese & ducks over land with lead shot while small gaming?

(Westmoreland County)

Default Re: Can you shoot geese & ducks over land with lead shot while small gaming?

I would read the book that came with your hunting License. Your answer is no. You can not even have lead shot in your possession when hunting water fowl. If a game officer finds you in possession of say a duck. And You are carrying lead shot or he digs lead out of it. As the saying goes (your in a heap of trouble boy).

Quote Originally Posted by WMEC 165 View Post
    My father and I have been talking about this for a few years. He says you can't hunt waterfowl with lead shot and I agree. But what about when you are out for rabbits, pheasants etc., you have your duck stamp, and waterfowl happen to fly over in shooting range. Is it legal? I'm not hunting waterfowl but cicumstances bring them in range. Any opinions?