Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    (Bedford County)

Default Massad Ayoob on talking to the police

this was probably posted before.. but here is Massad Ayoob on what to say if you are involved in a self-defense shooting.

http://imomags.com/gunsandammo/2011/...real-shooting/
    I am not a lawyer !!

Oh so close to the Delaware River!, New Jersey

Default Re: Massad Ayoob on talking to the police

That's important information to memorize and never forget.
    ...and they have a plan...

(Bedford County)

Quote Originally Posted by father-of-three View Post
    That's important information to memorize and never forget.
    it was an interesting point about evidence.. never really thought about it.
    I am not a lawyer !!

(Mercer County)

Phenominal information, stuff that anyone who carries a firearm for self-defense should memorize.
    There's no such thing as a free lunch.

Ayoob is certainly a well-known name in the firearms community, and he's testified at a lot of trials. He trusts cops, he sort of is one himself.

That being said, there are a lot of people sitting in jails who were the first to call 911. There are a lot more who called 911 who were the ones arrested. We've all heard that sort of call on the TV, where the defendant's call is played at trial, or is released before trial. "My wife is missing, I'm worried." "I just shot a man in self-defense, he had one of my kitchen knives in his hand."

Guilty people call 911 all the time, because they want to look like the victims. Cops know this at least as well as any 5 year old who's watched hundreds of hours of crime shows.

The reality is that in Pennsylvania, in most of the populated areas, the person who did the shooting is the bad guy, until proven otherwise.

I'm also disturbed by Ayoob's casual waiver of the 5th Amendment. What he's advising you to do is:
    - Confess to the shooting.
    - Identify yourself so they can find you.