Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Chester County)

Default Going to Get My First Gun

I have a bunch of free time so I'm going down to Cabela's and check out some handguns (semi-auto only for now). It will be my first time buying a gun. (Actually, I'm not even sure if I'll be able to buy one since I'm a PA resident but I'm in IL right now. I'll have to see what they say).

I have been following the forum for awhile now and I'm leaning towards a Glock gen 4 either 17 or 19. I know some people are against Glocks as a first gun since it lacks a manual safety, but I don't think I have to have a manual safety for it to be newbie friendly.

Either way, I'm set on a 9mm . I'm also looking at the FNP or FNX, HK USP, and I'm open for recommendations.

Cheers

(Lancaster County)

Default Re: Going to Get My First Gun

If you are planning on carrying concealed, be aware that the Glock17 can be difficult to conceal because of it's size. If you're a large person, then you'll have a better chance at concealing, but if of average or smaller size, you'll probably have a tough time.
    Rules are written in the stone,
    Break the rules and you get no bones,
    all you get is ridicule, laughter,
    and a trip to the house of pain.

(Cumberland County)

When I bought my G30 (my first pistol), people advised against it because it didn't have a safety. If you don't put your finger on the trigger, it won't fire. Glock's make great "first guns" despite the lack of safety. As a matter of fact, IMO, it makes you safer, because it doesn't have a safety, you're forced to be extra cautious. G17 will be hefty. G19's are ideal size for CC.

Don't know about FN's, but Hk's are expensive, but they're DAMN fine pistols. I hear the FN's are great.

(Franklin County)

Quote Originally Posted by Flak View Post
    (Actually, I'm not even sure if I'll be able to buy one since I'm a PA resident but I'm in IL right now. I'll have to see what they say).