Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Westmoreland County)

Default Can Pennsylvania charge you with possession of an antique firearm out of state?

I just moved to West Virginia and they allow you to have antique firearms in the state(the federal government does too) but it's prohibited in Pennsylvania cause I'm a prohibited person under pa law. Can Pennsylvania come after you for a firearm charge for possession in West Virginia because I was a resident of pa earlier this year for more than 181 days for this year's tax calendar. For tax purposes pa says your a resident if it's more than 181 days for taxes and I was told by a lawyer before i moved if I had a drivers license from pa but I possess a firearm in West Virginia only(not cross state lines with the antique firearm, it stays in West Virginia) pa can still charge you. I switched everything to West Virginia including my drivers license also but still a resident for tax purposes according to Pa cause I lived there earlier this year. My job is in Pa also still. West Virginia considered me a resident cause I've been here more than 30 days and I have a domicile and registration and drivers license there btw. I'll quit my job if it still makes me a resident under pa or if I'm still considered a resident until the next tax year I'll wait till then to buy it I Just wanted to see if anyone knows anything about it?
    Last edited by Monie5115; July 20th, 2024 at 07:20 AM.

(Cumberland County)

Default Re: Can Pennsylvania charge you with possession of an antique firearm out of state?

If you*re prohibited why do you have a firearm irregardless of it being an antique? Keep posting and someone will be with you shortly.

Default Re: Can Pennsylvania charge you with possession of an antique firearm out of state?

Antique as in blackpowder? Or Antique as in transferable through an ffl gun ?
    Derrion Albert was my Hero.

(Chester County)