Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What gun(s)?

(Dauphin County)

Default What gun(s)?

I'm just getting into hunting... What guns does everyone suggest?

I'm pretty small (5'6" and 130~ lbs), so I don't want something that'll knock me over!

Looking to hunt deer and small game, turkey/grouse, etc... Maybe at some point, bear with the rest of the family.

Just open to suggestions at this point. I don't want to break the bank, but I don't want something that will fall apart on me either.

-Simon
    Simon

(Lebanon County)

Default Re: What gun(s)?

I favor bolt action.
    Savage Model 110 and CZ-550 American are great guns for the money.
    Stay away from Remington Model 710!!!
    Don't be shy about looking at the used guns, there are a lot of good deals to be had there. Maybe you can score a Winchester or Remington bolt action for a reasonable price. (But not a Remington Model 710).
    As far as caliber for Pa. whitetail, you'll get all kinds of opinions.
    From my personal experience, .243 Win., .260 Rem., and 6.5X55 Swedish have plenty of power for medium size game, and mild recoil. If a bit more recoil wouldn't bother you, you could look at .270 Win., or .308 Win.. Bigger than that, you'll probably be getting into something with more recoil than you'd like. Some will tell you that you don't notice the recoil when you're dressed in heavy clothing and excited about the shot. That's very true, but you're going to want to shoot at targets to get sighted in and get comfortable and familiar with your gun too, that's where you'll notice the recoil, and that's when you could develop bad habits, like flinching.
    There are plenty of other calibers to gun styles to choose from, these are just a few recommendations I can offer from actual hands-on experience.
    There will be many more opinions here to guide you.
    Let us know what you decide.
    Good luck.

(Dauphin County)