Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Roll your own smokes?

For the past six months or so I have been buying tobacco by the pound and tubes for the cigarette machine. Costs about $8.00/carton. MAJOR savings over buying pre-rolled smokes.

I went to the tobacco shop today for a couple more pounds and tubes and see a sign saying that "roll your own" tobacco prices will be going up may 1st thanks to Obama's new tax plan.

The price now is $12.00/pound
    After May 1st $37.00/pound.

WTF!!!

Looks like it's time to quit.

"you have no power; here is the power; feel the power, brat, and then speak again of how you come to kill the Eternal."
    Pennywise The Clown

(Bucks County)

Default Re: Roll your own smokes?

I've been making my own for about 6 years now and even though it will still be cheaper and the tobacco is better than store bought, no chemicals and such, just pure tobacco, I guess I'm going to quit myself.
    I wonder how many people are going to feel the same way and quit, then it's going to bite these idiots on the ass when they don't have enough money to fund program they are trying to fund with it and the jobs that are going to be lost.
    I'm really getting tired of being singled out anytime they need to raise money for something, just because it's politically correct to single out smokers. Now some people will say that because of the raise I'm going to quit, that it makes it a good thing. Just remember, that when they no longer have smokers to pick on, your cheeseburger and such will go up when they decide to make a "Fat" tax. Or that because our evil guns can kill people they add more taxes to by adding a "Deadly Weapon" tax. The list can go on and on.
    Sorry for venting and I'll get down from the soap box now, but it just pisses me off. Link below is a good one about it.
    http://www.ryomagazine.com/index.htm