Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Schuylkill County)

Default Very Stupid Question

I know this is a stupid question and plz bear with me. I am new to gun ownership. I was just wondering if it was legal to own a automatic rifle in PA and ,if so, are there any websites that can tell me what I need to do to get one? Do I need some kind of permit? Are there any dealers who sell AR-15s? Thanks in advance for any information.

(Beaver County)

Default Re: Very Stupid Question

Yes you may own one with a proper certification signed by a chief LEO with a tax paid to the state.

And the gun (Brown's Armory in Rochester PA has a few of what you are asking) will cost you $10,000 to $15,000.

(Jefferson County)

You can legally own one in PA. There are no "permits", but rather a $200 tax stamp paid for transfer of a pre-1986 registered machinegun. Post-1986 are not transferable and are LEO/military only.

Folks at this site can help you go through the red tape. Just look at the sticky posts for the basics of what is needed.

Be prepared to spend alot of money. The cheapest machineguns are about $3500 for a Cobray MAC. Rifles like AK-47's and M16's are about $12000 to $18000.

(Beaver County)

OK, as a new to gun ownership....

Why not by a normal (semi-automatic sport rifle) AR-15 clone like what many here have.

You can get into these for about $850-$1500 brand new and there is no legal hoops to jump through. Maybe you are not aware of these?

The following picture is an example of legal owned riffles that are semi-automatic. They are military "Looking", but yet are innocent sport rifles that fire one bullet per pull of the trigger.

You may wish to inquire more towards this for monetary reasons. If you can afford a $12,000 rifle... GOD BLESS YOU! I know I can't!

[IMG][/IMG]

(Lebanon County)