Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Montgomery County)

Default School me on scopes

How to zero it, the different knobs etc... I know nothing

(Monroe County)

Default Re: School me on scopes

THe instruction sheet that came with the scope is a good start, did you read it?

(Montgomery County)

Yes I did...

(Butler County)

i am relatively new to rifles but my scope has a top knob, which is the elevation, a side knob which is windage, a rear knob which is the power(zoom) knob and the front of the scope turns for clarity.
    PETA - People Eating Tasty Animals

(Allegheny County)

First off I am NO expert on scoped rifles. I'm new to shoooting with a scope myself.

Here's some links which may help.

http://www.mil-dot.com/articles/how-...il-dot-reticle

http://www.millettsights.com/resourc...-target-knobs/

http://www.ultimatesniper.com/Articles.cfm
    Last edited by DaveM55; September 28th, 2012 at 10:11 AM.
    "Having a gun and thinking you are armed is like having a piano and thinking you are a musician" Col. Jeff Cooper (U.S.M.C. Ret.)
    Speed is fine, Accuracy is final

(Schuylkill County)

When sighting in your scope and rifle, use a shooting rest. Aim at the bullseye (duh) and take your first shot. Then, while keep the gun steady and aimed at the bull, use your elevation and windage adjustments to "walk" the crosshair to your point of impact on the target. Aim back at the bull and take your second shot. Should be damn close.

(Lackawanna County)

I learned from experience that zeroing with rest works for 22lr. For larger caliber you need to bolt down rest to the bench and rifle deadlocked to the rest.
    What I do for a first shot just aim at some dirt by your target and see where the bullet strikes. Adjust top knob for up and down and side knob for left right.

Usually after two shots I can move to paper target and finish the job.
    I know it's an amature way to go about it but it works for me.