Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Philadelphia County)

Default Advice Needed (Buying First Gun Tomorrow)

So I'm buying a .22 tomorrow most likely from Lock's Phila Gun Exchange. However, his prices seem to be very high compared to the prices I'm finding online. He said he has very few .22 rifles for $250, but online I see everything from a CZ 513 Basic to almost all the savages for under $200. I realize I'm not going to get as great a deal from a local gun shop as I can online, but the prices seem unreasonably high.

I'm no expert so I was wondering if you guys could offer some input. Is it taboo to try to negotiate and explain that you can get this gun far cheaper elsewhere, but would like to patronize your local store? I did tell him this would be my first gun so maybe I should have kept my mouth shut. I really want a .22 but I can't justify buying one for $100+ over what I could buy them for elsewhere.

Please give me the low down on this.
    “If ye love wealth better than liberty, the tranquillity of servitude than the animating contest of freedom, — go from us in peace. We ask not your counsels or arms. Crouch down and lick the hands which feed you. May your chains sit lightly upon you, and may posterity forget that ye were our countrymen!” ~Samuel Adams

You cannot invade America. There is a rifle behind every blade of grass.” ~ Admiral Isoroku Yamamoto

(Westmoreland County)

Default Re: Advice Needed (Buying First Gun Tomorrow)

I shot a Mossberg Plinkster Sunday and it was a really decent .22...for under $100 Bucks! (The owner actually paid $78 if I remember right!)

(Philadelphia County)

I want a better quality bolt-action. This is my first rifle and I intend to do alot of shooting with it due to ammo prices so I'd rather go with a better one. I want it to last me a lifetime.