Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    (York County)

Default Sporting Clays anyone?

Ok...who here shoots Sporting Clays? If you have shot some in the past or even if you have NEVER shot a round I want to encourage you to give it a try.
    I started shooting sporting clays about 6 years ago strictly by accident. I have never been a hunter but very familiar with firearms thru my time in the military and as an LEO. My Father-In-Law wanted me to go pheasant hunting with him and he thought we should do some target shooting to get prepared, so off to the state game lands we went. He threw the clays with an old hand thrower and I attempted to shoot them. It was so much fun that I wanted to find somewhere I could do that on a regular basis. I found a few places around that had Sporting Clays shoots on various days (Carlisle on Saturdays and Starview on Sundays) and I was hooked. Here I am 6 years later as an instructor and on the committee at Starview
    It really is quite fun. Some people may think that you need to have special equipment or a 'sporting' shotgun. Not true! All you need is the basics....a reliable shotgun that can fire 2 successive shots. (pump, Over/under, SxS, semi-auto....just no single shots or bolt actions) You need 50 shells and something to carry them around to the stations in such as a vest or 'belt' type bag. That is really it. The cost is minimal...the fun is not.
    Anyone who has thought about it and not done it yet, there really is no excuse. There are several Sporting Clays facilities around and all of them set good courses and have very informative staff.
    I am not trying to sound like a commercial here...but I enjoy truly enjoy the sport and would like to see it grow. Hope this helps some of you who may be thinking of comming out to shoot a round and have some fun.

(Lancaster County)

Default Re: Sporting Clays anyone?