Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Lehigh County)

Default euroarms bp revolver

i recently purchased a euro arms 1858 remington new model army replica its a .44 cal nice condition got it cheap but anyway i have no owners manual with it does anyone know what percussion caps i need for it? how much of a powder load would i need to run in it. im new to black powder this my first one dont want to mess it or me up when i take it out any advise would be great
    A.T.F alcohol, tabacco, and firearms... who's bringing the chips?

(Lebanon County)

Default Re: euroarms bp revolver

lead round balls either cast or swagged. .451-.457, yes it's a .44 and these are the right balls. you'll want to stick closer to .451.

3f holy black...erra i mean black powder. anywhere from 24-35grs....with 35 being pretty close to the max you would want to use on a normal basis.

no.11 caps.

black powder leaves corrosive salts after the party. letting it sit a week or even a few days before cleaning is not an option.

hot water and either some bore butter or wonder lube is thats needed to remedy that.
    bp is a blast and well worth the hassle it brings. nothing like it at dusk in summer, smoke and fire comes out everywhere.

the '58s are real good shooters too. 50yrd shots are no problem for it.

side note.
    the 1858 remington introduced what we know as a tactical reload.
    the cylinder is easily removed from the frame, allowing a loaded cylinder to replace an empty cyl fairly easily.
    Last edited by brian; April 4th, 2009 at 03:44 PM.
    it's only metal, we can out think it....

(Lehigh County)

brain atleast for today you are my new best friend lol thank you cant wait to take this thing out once i get all the crap i need to shoot bp my dad had 3 .44's all limited edition ones we wanted to shoot them but didnt want to harm the value so i bought this one and since its nothing special its a go for the range

(Lebanon County)