Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Montgomery County)

Default National Park question

I know it's illegal to carry in a national park. What if you're driving through on a state road though? Those of you familiar with Valley Forge know that rt. 23 runs through the park. Is it against the law to pass through while having a concealed weapon in your vehicle?

(Snyder County)

Default Re: National Park question

I am no lawyer or anything, but I would imagine it would be the same as transporting a firearm through a state that we do not have reciprocity with. As long as you are transporting it legally in regards with the laws of that state and the final destination is a place where you can carry legally, it should be fine. But if you plan on stopping and making a stay for any period of time in those areas, then things would get iffy.

(Montgomery County)

I'm mainly interested in knowing if it's legal to have a loaded weapon in my vehicle while driving through. I'm guessing that it isn't allowed but hoping someone knows for sure. There's a section that I drive through regularly that I think may be considered the park, it's only a few hundred feet or so but occasionally I'll have to take 23 the whole way through the park.

(Montgomery County)

Just my thoughts.........while the park grounds themselves maybe Federal Property, my guess is that Rt 23 is a township or county road so technically you would be ok if you were just driving through the park.

Default National Park Question?

Well, I've made legal mistakes before; but, this is the way I understand things; and, if I'm wrong again, I'm certain someone will be along shortly to straighten me right out!