Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Default Super Shorty Question

I have been looking at a Super Shorty for a little while. Not for any serious dedicated purpose but more likely just a fun gun and to scratch the the itch of Ineedanewgunitis. As a Delaware resident I am permitted by the state to own an AOW however thanks to a previous law it is illegal to have a smoothbore pistol. Assuming I am not completely wrong and don't have my facts screwed up (statistically I should be right about something one of these days), would I be able to have the Serbu Super Shorty made with an 870 with rifled barrel?

Thanks again for any and all help.

(York County)

Default Re: Super Shorty Question

Why not call Surbu and ask 'em?
    813-243-8899

Personaly I dont think it would be a problem to use a rifled slug barrel.
    OR (Big "or"),

Ask 'em to build it with a Briley straight rifled turkey barrel...
    It'll cost a bit more, but, what the hey, it's only your kids money right.
    Wouldn't you like to know what's in my safe.

(Jefferson County)

Under federal recognition, and recognition of most of the states - a rifled shotgun is still considered a "smoothbore" because the design of the bore(with long guns). With a rifled shotgun, the bore and lands are opposite of a truly "rifled" bore. The bore with the rifled shotgun is the larger of the two diameters, with the rifling being raised. With a "rifled" barrel, the rifling is the grooves and the bore is the smaller diameter.

However the ATF has been known to change their opinion at will, and differentiate between even two agents' opinions at the same time. If they consider a rifled barrel shotgun of such overall dimensions as a non-sporting firearm, it would become a Destructive Device with rifling and bore diameter. You'd then have to figure in what Delaware considered the type of bore.