Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Lancaster County)

Exclamation Legal issues for 18 year old..

So i am an 18 year old freshman college student this fall. I have always had a passion for guns and grew up with them started shooting around 5 and have just always loved it along with hunting and archery. I am a law-abiding citizen so thats why i turned to this site. I would like to build a 10" pistol ar15. I know you have to be 18 to buy lower receivers but to obtain one i could purchase on as a complete rifle or it could be gifted to me. My dad already talked to me about building a pistol ar so i could shoot it at the range while at the same time applying for the sbr stamp which would easily be waited on while at college. Ive heard of trusts and the individual routes. My questions are (What do i need to do to build a pistol AR? or apply for an SBR tax stamp as an 18 year old) also (Can i be on a trust with my father at the age of 18) The trust seems to be the better route because if my dad builds a suppressed ar or short barrel or whatever nfa item is on it i can always use it without him being present and the item can be left right in the trust after he passes. Let me know what everyone thinks. Thanks guys.

(Centre County)

Default Re: Legal issues for 18 year old..

I believe you have to be 21 to purchase a stripped lower, since it is classified as 'other'. I believe you also need to be 21 for NFA items
    IANAL

(Lehigh County)

You do not need a tax stamp for an ar pistol. A sbr, yes you do need one. You must also start with a virgin lower, do not take a lower from a rifle and build a pistol. You do not need a trust, a tax stamp or anything else. I have a 7.5" ar pistol. The easiest way to do it:
    1) Buy a new lower - $100
    2) build a pistol, use a pistol stock
    3) That's it, you're done
    It basically goes by the stock you have on it, put on a pistol stock and the barrel size does not matter.

(Lancaster County)