Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Red face Detained by an Alaska State Trooper

This incident occured about 11:40 a.m. in front of Safeway located in Homer, Alaska.

Most Alaska State Troopers are not like the story I'll mention below. All police in Alaska I've ever came in contact with never have a problem with me.

*I'm wearing a duty belt, safariland level2, XD 45 compact, ammo holder, and an extra full mag*

I was walking in the to local grocery store, and this guy dressed normally walks up behind me asking if I'm a police officer. I turn around, say no and see his badge. He tells me to stand still and not make any sudden movements while he reaches down and extracts my gun from the holster. Amazing thing it took him about 25 seconds to flip down the locking device and pull the weapon out.

Anyway, he goes on how its illegal to OC, especially since I'm not a cop. Giong in to a public place is illegal while carrying a gun, etc etc etc. He tells me I'll go to jail on charges of assault. Then I tell him what the law is, and there are no laws on OC. So he proceeds to tell me I'm still young, sometime I tell him my age and he keeps spewing stuff about how he is right. I tell him Alaska is an open carry state, just like Vermont, and he still tells me I'm wrong, I'll be charged with assault. I asked him if he was a state trooper or an officer of Homer, he stated he is a state trooper who is located in Anchor Point. *anchor point is 20 miles away from homer*

Oh well the best part I know you ALL *LOVE*... He said I'm breaking the law and I'll be charged with *chuckle* Disorderly Conduct.

3 policeman show up from the Homer Police Department, I know two knew me, but I don't know if the 3rd knew me. They check my ID, which I don't mind, I think they were just trying to get the state trooper to go away. He told them I was open carrying my gun in to a store full of people, he has his family there in Homer, etc etc.