Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    (Montgomery County)

Default My 2A Stance shot my being an EMT in the foot.

A little history:

In February, I was walking through a local park. I noticed that one of the parks ordinances prohibited the carry of firearms. This is in violation of Commonwealth preemption statutes. I took this matter to the Township Supervisors, and after some wrangling, they agreed the ordinance was in error, and voted to change it.

Thread HERE

I applied to my local EMS Squad because I moved, and wanted to serve my community. I'm an EMT, although not very experienced. I've just come back from the meeting where I was asked to restrict my posting on ZombieSquad, another forum I belong to, and to restrict my Second Amendment activism and restrict who I talk to on my "off time". His justification for these restrictions is that as a member of the Squad, I am never off the clock, so I always represent them.

Of course, I withdrew my application, but I cannot believe the temerity of the Board, telling private citizens what they can and can't do ON THEIR OWN TIME. Pennsylvania has a law, called Act 45. It prohibits EMS personnel for carrying firearms while on duty. I have no problem with that, don't like it, but it's the law. Unfortunately, as a member of the EMS Squad, I would not be able to render air to *ANYONE* I come across, while carrying a firearm. That's right, if I joined, they would extract a promise from me to NOT RENDER AID, until and unless I could put my gun somewhere.

All I wanted was to serve my community. I wanted to help the people I live by and try to make a bad time suck less. Instead, I was asked to give up my my rights as free citizen. They are concerned with image, appearance and so forth. I understand that, I really do, but to tell me what I can and can't so ON THE INTERNET?