Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Default AR regulations for Philadelphia

Hello

This is my first time posting to this forum. Thanks for having me.
    I am in the process of moving from Maryland to Philadelphia and I am trying to get some particulars on the Philly specific rules and regulations for owning and possessing AR-15 rifles. E.g. are there any such regulations or do they all mirror the greater PA laws? Any links or info would be appreciated.

(Montgomery County)

Default Re: AR regulations for Philadelphia

Quote Originally Posted by Seamus View Post
    Hello

This is my first time posting to this forum. Thanks for having me.
    I am in the process of moving from Maryland to Philadelphia and I am trying to get some particulars on the Philly specific rules and regulations for owning and possessing AR-15 rifles. E.g. are there any such regulations or do they all mirror the greater PA laws? Any links or info would be appreciated.
    Firearm laws are uniform through out the state. The only difference is you need a LTCF to carry the AR or to have it in your car.

Great - thanks for your response.

(Bucks County)

Quote Originally Posted by BenP View Post
    Firearm laws are uniform through out the state. The only difference is you need a LTCF to carry the AR or to have it in your car.
    Close, but not exactly. Firearm laws are universal throughout the state and can be found here:

http://reference.pafoa.org/statutes/...-firearms-act/

The only thing different about philly is that you need a LTCF (license to carry firearms) to open carry a firearm on foot. In the rest of the state, you do not.

That being said, an AR15 rifle is not considered a "firearm" for purposes of a LTCF. You do NOT need a LTCF to carry an AR15 rifle openly, concealed, on foot, or in a vehicle. However you cannot have a loaded long gun in a vehicle anywhere in PA, whether or not you have a LTCF.