Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Berks County)

Default 9mm Suggestion for Range and IPSC use

Hello,

As I posted a little while back, I am very new to shooting. I've just recently purchased my first pistol (Beretta .380) and took a FIRST Steps pistol class.

Just as many of you have mentioned in other threads, this has lead to the gun bug. I find myself spending lots of time looking at different pistols and can't wait to get my club membership card so I can get out and do more shooting.

I'm looking a little further down the line and want to get into some IDPA and IPSC shooting. Both organizations require 9mm caliber or larger so I'm going to need to get myself something that will allow me to compete.

I want to spend a couple months getting comfortable with shooting before giving competative shooting a try. So with that in mind i want to start getting an idea as to what I should look for in a 9mm. The reason for the 9mm is it will allow me to shoot more for less money when it comes to ammo.

I've read serious competitors load their own rounds, but it isn't something I am looking into at the moment and want to stick with factory rounds.

Because I want to wait a couple months before getting involved (maybe around the spring), I want to get an idea what to look at and possibly rent in the meantime.

I own a Beretta and have shot 2 others (Neos and a duty weapon that I'm not sure of) so I am comfortable and happy with what the company has to offer. Would a 9mm Beretta be something I should look into or are there better options?

I'm not concerned with Concealing it so a full sized pistol would be more along the lines of what I am looking for. The only downside to the Beretta is the price. hey appear to normally be over $500, which is where I would like to set the cap in terms of pistol cost (taxes, insta check, etc.. would be separate).