Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Butler County)

Default Older Eyes, Looking for solutions

So here is the deal, I am now 46 years old and shoot quite often. Almost every weekend. When I turned 42 I started to realize that if wanted to be able to read I would need reading glasses. My eyes are very good at long distances but can't see real well up close. I just use cheap reading glasses and Im good except when shooting. Pistol sights are a little blurry now and target clear, If I put the reading glasses on pistol sights are crisp and clear and target blurry. Scoped firearms are not a problem, neither are red dots, What do you guys with similar eyesight do?

Default Re: Older Eyes, Looking for solutions

Actually, the front sight is supposed to be sharp and the target blurry regardless of your eyesight. Wait until you get into your 50s! I have been wearing bifocals for about 12 years now, and usually do just fine with the front sight being sharp and the target blurry. Then again, the only "precision" shooting I do is with a rifle. Pistols are for bad guys, tin cans, and COM.

The land o' cotton, old times there are not forgotten

Sounds like the reading glasses are doing the job for you.

(Northampton County)

He's right the reading glasses with a slightly weaker strength than you would use to read. I have bifocal glasses and don't like having to tilt my head back to get things in focus. You can get reverse reading glasses with the magnifier on the top. These are often used for close-up work by mechanics while under a car etc., but will work for shooting.
    The question is, will you be on your feet or your knees?

(Bucks County)

You need longer arms!

I'm in the same boat (47) and can just barely keep the front site in focus. I tend to try to not use reading glasses to practice, since if I ever need to use a handgun defensively it is unlikely I will have them on.

(Schuylkill County)