Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Allegheny County)

Default Looking for a reloading instructor in .223

I live in the Pittsburgh area, near the airport, and I want to get some experienced help in reloading .223 for my son. He is currently deployed in Iraq, due back in mid-May, and asked me to reload some practice .223. I have been reloading pistol ammo for six months now using the Lee Classic Turret. Obviously I know reloading but not pistol, thus the request for some hands on help in rifle calibers. Since .223 are loaded to much higher pressures I don't want to self-teach or "you tube" teach. While I understand the concepts and the differences between rifle and pistol I would like to proceed carefully.

I don't have ANY of the rifle components or dies yet and that is the second question. Add to my list and tell me what I need:

1. components - brass, bullets, powder, primers
    2. dies - I will probably buy the Lee Deluxe Rifel die set
    3. case trimmer
    4. primer pocket cleaner - is this necessary? I don't use one in my pistol loading

What else is needed? I will use my small digital scale for powder charging as well as the calipers and other hand tools.

If rifle components are as scarce as pistol, this should be interesing.

Anyone? Of course, I am willing to travel a decent distance.

Thanks in advance
    grumpa72@gmail.com

Ps, feel free to email me with your preferences in rifle powder and primers. I am open to suggestions.

(Northampton County)

Default Re: Looking for a reloading instructor in .223

The only real difference between pistol and rifle is that you need to lube the rifle case. Everything else is business as usual.
    Add to your list some case lube such as Hornady's One Shot. There are quite a few to choose from. Look around for supplies because they aren't too plentiful right now.