Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Thread: Moving to PA?

Default Moving to PA?

So I have finally decided that once I have finished this/next semester of school I will be moving to PA to finish up school (moving from good old New York **yes sarcasm**) and i just had a few questions about some of the gun laws seeing as they differ so much.

1) does anyone know how long after i move to PA before i would be able to purchase firearms as a resident, i have a feeling that if i move there and a week later try to buy something that isnt Nanny State approved they might not sell it to me

2) What is the process to obtain a Concealed carry permit, and how much of an issue will it be for me since i was denied my pistol permit here in new york

3) If the proper paperwork is filled out are SBR's, Suppressors, things like that ok in PA

4) and am i correct in my assumption that PA does not have a mag. cap?

thanks for any and all help, i probably have 100 other questions that i want to get a jump on since i only know New York

(Northampton County)

Default Re: Moving to PA?

1. Immediately. However, it will be a lot easier if you have your driver's license, which you can also get immediately. Without it, you probably won't have convincing evidence of residency. So just get it Day 1 then head to the gun store.

2. Fill out the form (I think it is 1 or 2 pages) and take it to the Sheriff of your county. Some issue in 15 minutes, some wait 45 days (longer in Philly), some in between. If you were denied in NY because of a crime that is prohibiting in PA then you will be denied in PA. If not, it won't matter in most cases unless it's one of the few crappy Sheriffs that use it as a denial under the character clause. In which case you can likely appeal.

No, you don't have to wait a certain amount of time to get your License to Carry Firearms, either (I know that is coming next).

3. Yes you can own them.

4. There are no restricted guns or mags in PA.