Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (York County)

Default Looking for opinion on how to respond to auction seller

Hey everyone. I don't know if this is the best place to post this, but I thought I'd give it a try. If it should be moved elsewhere I'm fine with that. Anyway, here's my situation. I'm not a newbie, have owned guns and been shooting for 40+ years now. I've bought, owned, and sold a number of guns over the years, including purchasing some used weapons. I've only bought a small number of used guns on-line due to the fact I've always been a little uneasy with trusting someone else's perception of what "good", or VG is, or what 85% vs 95% is. I guess I've been pretty lucky because up until last year I was never burned on a deal. My last used purchase was a disappointment, the gun just wasn't what the listing implied, and numerous faults were not shown in photos. Since then I've been very reluctant to consider purchasing another used gun without being able to inspect it in person. I've just come across a gun that I've really been wanting for some time, and yes it's used. The photos are nice and cosmetically the gun looks really nice. The seller has good feedback on the auction site. I responded to the listing with 3 or 4 questions regarding the mechanical condition. The only thing stated in the listing regarding function/mechanical condition is: "The rifle has been inspected and functions properly." The gun does not come with any magazine so I was a little curious as to how the seller may have inspected and determined that the gun "functions properly". In a prompt response to my questions in this matter the seller replied "I've never fired it so I don't know about cycling". That's all the seller stated. Now I'm a little more concerned. How can someone list a gun and say it's been "inspected and functions properly" without having ever even fired it? And no, this is not a NIB gun that someone wouldn't want to fire due to decreasing it's value. Here's