Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Chester County)

Default Looking to Buy First Handgun

Hello folks,

I think it is time. I'm looking for a handgun for home defense and target shooting, I won't be carrying it around. I am new to handguns in general, I do like to do target practice with my airguns, but they are airguns...

I want it for home defense but also target shooting. I think a .40SW or .45ACP are good calibers. I'm not interested in flashy exotic guns, just an absolutely reliable piece. With that, I'm looking at the Glock 23. It seems very conservative looking and off course known for performance. I like the Glocks because it's cheap too. Another gun I'm looking into is the Colt 1911 WWI Reproduction. Please give me some advice and other suggestions.

I'm unsure of dealer logistics; do most dealers have a bunch of guns in stock, or do you just request a gun and they can get it for you? Also, with zero criminal record, how long untill I can get my hands on the gun?

Thanks!

Default Re: Looking to Buy First Handgun

[sorry!!!!!!!!!!]
    Last edited by Ronnies111; July 8th, 2009 at 07:11 PM.
    I'm Your Huckaberry...Say When:)

(Washington County)

For a home defense only gun I would recommend a shotgun, but if you're dead set on a pistol, I would get a .357 revolver (because they don't jam, and you don't have issues with ejecting, or inserting magazines.) Smith and Wesson 686 is a nice one.

But that said 1911s are great guns. No experience with glocks, but everyone raves about them.

Welcome to the forum. I've only been on here about a week, but the wealth of information on here is astounding.

(Chester County)

I see people saying best home defense is a shot gun. I want a handgun because it is more portable.

Quote Originally Posted by CerealKiller View Post