Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Cambria County)

Default Firing .45 GAP through a 1911?

So I bought a new Taurus PT1911 .45 yesterday, and wanted to take it right to the range afterwards. The woman who sold me the gun accidentally gave me GAP ammo instead of ACP ammo. We went to the range, I fired about 25 shots of the GAP (had a few weird jams/double extractions) but they fired seemingly well and accurately. I discovered later that night that I had the wrong ones.

My only question is, is it safe for myself and my new gun to fire the rest of the GAP through it? I have about 25 rounds left, not worth making a big deal over and I'd rather just shoot them off, but wanted to make sure with you guys first. Thanks in advance!

(Lehigh County)

Default Re: Firing .45 GAP through a 1911?

I would recommend against it. I am not an expert on the .45 GAP but I am surprised it worked in your pistol at all. (without someone or something being injured/broken)

Is this your first gun? Dude, you need to stop thinking about the range and read your owners manual from cover to cover. I am certain in there you will find your answer. If it does not specifically state .45ACP/.45GAP do not do it.

I suggest you take some classes or go with a more experienced shooter.
    When you are called a racist, it just means you won an argument with an Obama supporter.

(Northampton County)

As far as I know you shouldn't shoot the GAP out of the a gun chambered in ACP. The lip on the base of the GAP is different from the ACP, which would explain the jams. The round is also shorter and might cause a problem when firing. I don't have any info in front of me now and if someone else doesn't post in the mean time I will post more details later.
    ““Liberty is the right to choose. Freedom is the result of the right choice.””

-Anonymous

Jeff

Glade Mill Lake, Cooperstown, Pennsylvania
    (Butler County)