Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (York County)

Default Question regarding confrontation, self defense, and third party damage

Since I'm rather new at the whole LTCF / gun ownership realm (about eight months or so having moved from MD last year), I'm still learning all of the rules.

What I've been thinking of, though, and in light of the other posts regarding the whole "what if" scenarios, what would happen in the following situations?

Scenario #1:
    You're home, BG enters, you're in fear, shoot the BG, one of the bullets goes astray through your window and hits your neighbor's car. Who assumes responsibility for that and is there a difference if the BG is alive or dead? The latter based on initiating the cause.

Scenario #2:
    You're out with family, getting your child in the car, someone comes up, threatens you, you shoot BG, one bullet goes astray and hits someone in the parking lot. What happens in this situation and would there be a difference if the BG lives or dies, and if the bystandard lives or dies?

Instead of posts regarding "aim better" and the like, I do think these are very legitimate scenarios and am curious as to what the legalities of such would be. Oh, and I'm a good shot; at least with handguns, at 25 yards I always seem to be at the target or within 1/2". Kind of surprising and baffling, too! Point for me!

Thanks so much!

(Butler County)

Default Re: Question regarding confrontation, self defense, and third party damage

Scenario 1.

Your bullet, your damage. If the bad guy didnt somehow make you pull the trigger, your liable. And even if he did expect repercussions.

Scenario 2.

See scenario one.

The only difference it makes if the bad guy lives or dies is if he dies thats one less testimony.

Only difference if an innocent bystander lives or not is the level of possible criminal charges, and how bad you will be sued in civil court.

Make em count.
    Last edited by jud4420; September 23rd, 2008 at 11:18 AM.