Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Allegheny County)

Default NEW JUNIOR AR15 SHOOTER HERE!

(Hey guys my son wanted to make a post on here so im going to let him)

Hey yall!

im thinking about getting into a Junior AR15 shooting competitions at my local range. i was reading all the rules and kind of hit a roadblock on the last rule. it says i must have my own AR15 so i thought to myself ok ill go to the gun shop and pick out a Ar15, i went to the gunshop and looked at the prices...$1000+ i thought to myself is their any place where i can find very low-cost parts and build one myself (as im under 18, dont have a job so im on a really tight budget)? or is there a place where i can buy one for around $500 or under? i have a lot of experience building kits so that wouldnt be a problem for me. Any free advice or parts would be very very appreciated. Thanks for helping the younger generation take part in such a great hobby! THANKS SOOO MUCH! btw i want to make sure i do this COMPLETELY legal, so if a part needs to be shipped to a FFL can you please tell me? Thanks again! happy shooting. i have a lot of experiene building kits so i think that might help a little bit with this, anyone wiling to lend some knowledge or even some parts would really really turn this dream into a reality!
    Last edited by BandanaBandit1; September 17th, 2009 at 04:47 PM.

(Montgomery County)

Default Re: NEW JUNIOR AR15 SHOOTER HERE!

First, welcome to the board. It's especially great that a younger person wants to shoot.

Now, i have a question for you. What kind of comp. are we talking about? You'd want to set your AR up differently depending on the type of comp. Maybe a CMP shoot?

Also, the only item on an AR that needs to go through an FFL is the lower receiver. Your mom or dad would need to buy that for you since persons under 18 can not.