Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Bucks County)

Default how do you calibrate hangun sights?

Just installed a new set of sights on my g23c. would like to verify that the sights are true. does anyone have a way to do this, as I am new to shooting I can't just go by my shooting.

thanks

(Jefferson County)

Default Re: how do you calibrate hangun sights?

Take it to a range and; shoot, adjust, shoot, adjust, shoot, adjust..

Best results are off a rest of some sort.

I have a Bubba way to do sights on a handgun to get a close setting prior to the range.

1. find a straight wood dowel or rod close to the diameter of the barrel, but about 2-3 times longer than the barrel..
    2. wrap some yarn around it equally until it just fits the barrel bore. Slide it down the bore most of the way.
    3. eyeball the sights with the top curve of the end of the rod, and make any necessary windage adjustments.

You can usually get within minute of torso @ 10-15yards quite easily after doing a complete sight swap with the method above.. Elevation adjustments(if available) you'll have to do at the range.
    RIP: SFN, 1861, twoeggsup, Lambo, jamesjo, JayBell, 32 Magnum, Pro2A, mrwildroot, dregan, Frenchy, Fragger, ungawa, Mtn Jack, Grapeshot, R.W.J., PennsyPlinker, Statkowski, Deanimator, roland, aubie515, SteveWag

Don't end up in my signature!

(Chester County)

Quote Originally Posted by larrytbull View Post
    Just installed a new set of sights on my g23c. would like to verify that the sights are true. does anyone have a way to do this, as I am new to shooting I can't just go by my shooting.

thanks