Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 15 1234511 ... LastLast
    (Bucks County)

Default Bringing Knives to a Gunfight

synergy and I started discussing the defensive use of edged weapons in the Gun Pictures forum yesterday. I didn't want to take Gary's THE Knife Thread off topic so here we are.

Most of us carry handguns on a daily basis. How many carry knives as well? I'm guessing most (or at least a lot) of us do that too. How many think of their knives as backup or last ditch weapons? Who's really thought hard about how you'd use a knife? Let's talk about it.

I think we need to be prepared for a situation where we might need something more than harsh words or empty handed strikes to maintain control of our handguns.

I'm no expert, but I've got about 24 hours of instruction in Modern Combative Systems' Inverted Edge Tactics under my belt. mercop has come up with a method that maximizes the potential of the relatively small knives people typically carry. I've learned a lot of incredibly valuable stuff from George. I've also been doing a lot of independent study and solo training for a while now.

For clarity's sake, here are some terms for those unfamiliar with the subject.
    FGEO: Forward Grip Edge Out
    ^^^^This is the knife grip everyone is probably most familiar with.
    FGEI: Forward Grip Edge In
    RGEO: Reverse Grip Edge Out
    ^^^^ This is the 'icepick' grip you typically see in slasher movies.
    RGEI: Reverse Grip Edge In
    Trainer: A generic training 'knife', sometimes made of wood or plastic.
    Drone: An unsharpened, rounded tip, duplicate of a particular 'live' knife.

I can post illustrative photos if anyone wants them.

Quote Originally Posted by synergy View Post