Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Allegheny County)

Default Ar-15 6-position buttstock question...

Wondering if there is any difference between the manufacturers of the basic 6-position buttstock? Are they all made by the same manufacturer and relabeled?

I am looking for a decent quality one, but don't want to spend more than 100 bucks or so.

Any recommendations?

(Montgomery County)

Default Re: Ar-15 6-position buttstock question...

StevieB92, I'm new to the AR-15. I have been looking for a good buttstock myself and there are so many online vedors it makes my head spin. What I found is the Command Arms Buttstock. It comes with the buttstock, nut, retainer, buffer tube, buffer spring and buffer. It also has a rubber shock pad, battery storage and Picatinny rail. I think thats the complete buttstock and it looks to be made a little sturdier that the plane Jane collapsible. I found it at many online vendors but the cheapest I was abel to find was the Sportsmans Guide the price is $69.97 Cheaper than Dirt has it for $73.49 and Midway for $84.99. Hope that helps If anyone has other info on this buttstock please chime in. Like I said I'm new at the ar.
    EB EVO KC9, Kimber SS Raptor Pro II,
    Sig 226 Legion, Wilson Combat Supergrade

(Berks County)

I had looked at those 6 positions but i decided to take the plunge and just went and bought a Magpul CTR. You can find them here... http://www.bravocompanyusa.com/AR15-Stocks-s/49.htm

However a word of warning if you do not know whether your buffer tube is of military or civilian spec; I would think about just ordering a mil-spec buffer tube and the mil spec CTR to be on the safe side. The diameter of the tubes is slightly different. It makes just enough difference when fitting the CTR it is designed not to move much at all when locked in place.