Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Lancaster County)

Talking Walther P1 - experience? warnings? praises ?

I have always been drawn to the look of the Walther p-38. I have been eyeing up a post-war P1 with alloy frame for a while now. I have read comments all over the place, with some people saying "save your money and buy a real p-38" all the way to "its great so long as you only shoot 9mm ball." My intent is to buy one so I can actually use it. I'd save up for a wwii one if i wanted it that badly, but then to never shoot it seems like a big waste.

I am still relatively new to firearms, although I have a bulgarian makarov that I love.

So anyway, I figured before I spend the green on one of these, I would ask the greatly more experienced gurus of firearms in this great state specifically about this sidearm.

Have any advice? Have any suggestions on what to look for/avoid in one ? Any feedback from somebody who owns/shoots one ? I appreciate any and all comments!

Thanks all!

(Jefferson County)

Default Re: Walther P1 - experience? warnings? praises ?

P1's, aka P-38's are fine handguns. The Germans chose them for a reason to carry as a sidearm.

I couldn't tell ya about the alloy models - but the war production and steel post war are reliable pieces still worth of holster duty.

They're fine, some pluses and some negatives. My experience was using a wartime P-38 (steel frame, round firing pin). Not sure how the post-war alloy frame guns hold up, they may have chosen softer metal expecting low use or a short service life from the post war guns.

PRO
    Double action, *nice* single action trigger
    Nice sight picture
    Easy cleanup & maintenance
    Fed hollowpoints surprisingly well.
    More accurate than I expected.

CON
    Seven or eight round capacity, don't recall which
    Full frame size, not the most concealable gun around.
    Magazines can be expensive