Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    (Monroe County)

Default New QotD- Why did you decide to carry a firearm?

I originally thought I would ask this of members who were not raised around firearms, but I guess it should be open to all. I am not looking for, "because I can", or,"it's my right", kind of answers. What I would like to see are specific reasons, or events, that spurred you on toward daily carry. I am especially interested in reasons from people who did not previously own a handgun, who bought one with the express intent of carrying it.

For myself, my background is I was raised in Queens, N.Y. In the neighborhood of Far Rockaway, specifically, where the only guns were possessed by cops or robbers. I moved around a bit as an adult, but firearms were not part of my thought process. I joined the Army, and became quite proficient with small arms and explosives. The Army changed my core, as the service does for many, but when I was discharged, I left my weapons behind.

One day, as my son and I were playing at our local park, I noticed a large group of kids, ranging in age from 11 to about 16, passing by. They were surrounding an older guy, I would say he was about 30, and they were listening to him talk much like I would assume the disciples listened to Jesus.
    The snippet of conversation I heard, as they passed, changed how I thought about my area. It went something like this:

30 year old, to group of kids, "When you wit us, you ain't got shit to worry 'bout a'ight. Y'all got static or some ***** roll up wit some beef, all you gots to do is yell and we be here fowty deep yo'...."

In the park where my son plays. In the park where my family gathers to barbecue and swim. Gang recruiting. There were enough unsupervised kids to form a two deep ring around this guy. I was at the gun store that same night. Forty deep the scumbag said. Since the second I received my LTCF I have never gone anywhere in my local area unarmed.