Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    (Philadelphia County)

Default New gun owner looking to make some friends

Hey everybody, my name is Andrew. This is a great forum and I've enjoyed reading it over the last few months.

I am a 25 year old former Marine, I got out in March '07 after my 4 years was up. I was a diesel mechanic, the shop chief for 1RADBN Motor-T, making sure all the 7-tons and hummers were healthy. I got to live in Okinawa Japan for a year, which was great. I also did one very safe, boring, hot and sweaty tour in Iraq that did nothing whatsoever to make America safer.

Now I am using my GI Bill to get me through college, I attend Penn State Abington campus, as a painting and drawing major, and I'd like to make a living as an artist, maybe even teaching painting/ drawing at a college or graduate level. I do seasonal construction work in museums in NYC for my dad's company when the museums change over their shows.

I live in Northern Liberties, and after a shooting or two, and a rape, rape here and a robbery-assault there I decided to get a pistol for home defense. I now own a Glock 21SF, and it stays in an easy to reach spot next to my bed.

I am well versed in firearms safety and handling when it comes to M-16's and 92FS's, but I am new to Glocks and the lack of an external safety. I am decent with a beretta 9 but haven't even taken my .45 to the range yet. I can hit COM at 500 yards 8/10 times using iron sights with an M16 but haven't shot more than 500 rds through a pistol in my life.