Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Bucks County)

Default Trip to New Jersey

I've got a question for all of the legal experts. I'm a PA resident, and I am going to be visiting friends of the family in New Jersey. They are members of a gun club in NJ, and they invited me to visit the range with them while I am there. I do not have a LTCF in any state.

Is it legal for me to bring my firearms with me? Either pistols or long arms?

Specifically, I will be taking a Ruger 10/22, a Taurus Tracker, a Browning Hi-Power, and a CZ52. I may take my Norinco Hunter as well, so long as the NJ Gestapo won't confiscate it (and space permitting). I own all of these guns legally, of course.

A quick search of old threads says that I can take them, but they need to be unloaded, locked in seperate cases, and not easily accessible. This is how I typically transport my firearms when travelling to the range. I understand that hollow points are no-no's. Also, I see there is a magazine capacity limit, because fun is illegal in New Jersey.

Is this still proper protocol when travelling in the garden state? The other threads and posts all seem to be about a year old, I just want to be absolutely sure I am not doing anything illegal.

Default Re: Trip to New Jersey

the Norinco Hunter is fine here just keep guns in casses and ammo seperate .
    I put the guns in trunk or pickup tool box locked and ammo in the back seat.
    I shoot in pa as soon as i cross the state line i feel free im going today !!
    No mags over 15 rdns

(Lancaster County)

Good question.

(Delaware County)

http://www.nj.gov/njsp/about/firearms.html

http://www.njguns.com/laws.htm

The top link is to the New Jersey State Police website on firearms. Both links contain good information and were found by using Google with the keywords "new jersey gun laws".

Bill

(Bucks County)

I understand that hollow points are no-no's.