Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Philadelphia County)

Default a few questions about LTCF

Hey everyone, I'm applying for my LTCF next week in Luzerne county (my "permanent" residence is there), however I live in Philadelphia for school. My employer as well as both my references are in Philly. Do you think this will raise any flags when I go to the sheriff for my permit--as in, I'm a resident of Philly trying to get a Luzerne permit because it's a lot easier/faster? Do I need to tell them my employer (it's just part time retail, nothing serious)--would "student" suffice?

Last thing, my Philadelphia apartment is across the street from a school, I currently don't plan on open carrying in the city (too much potential hassle/hazard, especially in my neighborhood) but I'm not sure how concealed carry laws apply when you live within 1000 feet of a school.

Thanks so much, I'm trying to get this all sorted out to do everything correctly and be a good example of a responsible gun owner.

(Chester County)

Default Re: a few questions about LTCF

First off I think your references need to be non family members that legally reside in the county to which you are applying. Second the school thing should be fine, just stay off of the immeadite campus, you live close not a damn thing you can do about that. As far as carrying I would def go CC philly cops can be uber pricks and they will more than likely try and hit you with the all purpose "disorderly conduct". As far as you employer I live in Chester county my employer is in Lancaster County it was no problem at all.

When injustice becomes law, rebellion becomes duty!

(Philadelphia County)

Quote Originally Posted by AimeeM View Post