Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Westmoreland County)

Default insurance and gunsmithing

I have been gunsmithing for over 10 years out of a small room in my basement and my garage. Last July my home owners insurance paid a suprise visit, now they want to cancel my homeowner even thou I have smithing insurance, claiming liability to be the problem. My smithing insurance has a higher liability, 1 mill. and my homeowners is 300,000. They tell me I can't have the business on my property. Are there any smith's here that operate out of thier homes as I do? What do you do? Thanks for any and all help. Alan

(Westmoreland County)

Default Re: insurance and gunsmithing

Insurance companies have gotten squirrelly since Katrina. It used to be you never saw them. Then they started inspecting small businesses every year or two. Not enough fire extinguishers? Owner gets a threating letter and a follow up visit. Now it seems that they're starting to come after homeowners.

Call your agent. He is already aware of the issue. Find out what he has to say. Then put your policies up for bid. Call a half dozen agents and have them quote it a couple different ways with at least two carriers each. You will then have a good idea of what is available and whether or not you're getting a good deal.

There are enough insurance companies out there and they all want your business. They will do everything in their power to avoid paying a claim when you have a problem. You owe allegiance to none of them.
    Never underestimate the value of early training.

(Luzerne County)

I had the same thing happen to me.

I now have Erie ins co for the house. They are cool w/the GS biz

HTH!

(Bedford County)

Up until last year, our gunsmithing shop has always been on the same property as our house. Never had a problem, but we also have ERIE Insurance.

(Westmoreland County)