Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Exclamation Moving to PA! i have some questions! please help.

HI all, IM a florida resident and i enjoy our mostly friendly gun laws. I am however moving near the end of the year to Philadelphia, well between philidelphia university and chestnut hill so far north philly. i was wondering about the area, ive heard its nice and not to bad crime wise and ive head its bad. i know i can carry statewide but what is the general attitude twards ccw in the area and in philly? and is there castle doctrine and stand your ground laws in place? what areas should i avoid at all costs? lol
    thanks for any help.

(Jefferson County)

Default Re: Moving to PA! i have some questions! please help.

Quote Originally Posted by Swampdaddy84 View Post
    HI all, IM a florida resident and i enjoy our mostly friendly gun laws. I am however moving near the end of the year to Philadelphia, well between philidelphia university and chestnut hill so far north philly. i was wondering about the area, ive heard its nice and not to bad crime wise and ive head its bad. i know i can carry statewide but what is the general attitude twards ccw in the area and in philly? and is there castle doctrine and stand your ground laws in place? what areas should i avoid at all costs? lol
    thanks for any help.
    If you like FL's laws, you like PA's even more(except the handgun transfer thing and vehicle transporting requiring a license). Outside of Philly and with no state of emergency - you don't need a license to openly carry a gun afoot.

Start here - http://forum.pafoa.org/concealed-ope...nsylvania.html

PA has always had Castle Doctrine. We added SYG last year.

Philly's government hates guns, but they have no real say in things - PA has preemption. Urban areas like anywhere else tend to lean towards anti-gun, so you may have more issues with common folks when carrying is the subject.