Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Savage 99

Default Savage 99

Howdy ,I am interested to know how many pennsylvania riflemen still use the Model 99 as thier primary hunting rifle and what caliber it is and how do they rate its performance on deer.
    HISTORY KNOWS NOTHING OF ITS GREATEST MEN

Default Re: Savage 99

You bet I do! It's even my avatar. Mine's chambered in .300 Savage, never had a problem dropping deer.
    I am not a lawyer and nothing I say should be construed as legal advice.

I use a 99c in 308 for hunting, Still puts em down when i squeeze the trigger.

Semper Fi,

(Chester County)

Same here. Lyman peep sight. Dead accurate.

Quote Originally Posted by Karma8541 View Post
    I use a 99c in 308 for hunting, Still puts em down when i squeeze the trigger.

Semper Fi,

(Wayne County)

I have a 30/30 in a model 99 it's the takedown model. It is the best lever action gun I ever shot. I killed alot of deer with it and I just recently retired it because it's very old and worth too much money.

Quote Originally Posted by JDC View Post
    I have a 30/30 in a model 99 it's the takedown model. It is the best lever action gun I ever shot. I killed alot of deer with it and I just recently retired it because it's very old and worth too much money.
    I'm sure we'll have to agree to disagree on this one, but what's the point of having a gun if you don't shoot it!? My 99 was made in 1939 and it's in great condition, but that doesn't stop me from trekking out into the woods with it rain, snow, or shine.
    I am not a lawyer and nothing I say should be construed as legal advice.

(Wayne County)

Quote Originally Posted by zackattack784 View Post
    I'm sure we'll have to agree to disagree on this one, but what's the point of having a gun if you don't shoot it!? My 99 was made in 1939 and it's in great condition, but that doesn't stop me from trekking out into the woods with it rain, snow, or shine.