Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Delaware County)

Default Picking the appropriate handgun

I'm a newbie and about to purchase my first handgun and fill out my LTCF application. I've been shooting hunting rifles/shotguns all my life but never a handgun. I'm looking to use it for target shooting (range) as well as home protection. I'm looking for something that is semi-auto, on the smaller side. Any help for a novice would be greatly appreciated.

(Allegheny County)

Default Re: Picking the appropriate handgun

welcome to PAFOA!

you will get many opinions on this matter.

perhaps the best one is "try to either go to a range that rents different guns or find some buddies that have different guns and try them out to see what gun fits your hand well and what gun you can shoot well".

well, really the best advice is "buy a glock"

...and choose 9mm because the ammo is cheaper and so you can practice more which means you will be able to shoot it better.

so, that leaves you with basically the choice of a glock 17 (full-sized), glock 19 ("compact") or glock 26 ("subcompact").

personally, i carry the glock 17. i like full sized guns because they are easier to shoot accurately and quickly and i don't have any trouble concealing it, so i have no incentive to pick a smaller one.

other people have trouble comfortably concealing a full sized pistol and opt for one of the smaller ones. for this reason, a glock 19 is considered by many to be the perfect CCW gun.

i'm sure many others will be along with other opinions, though...

(Delaware County)

1. Shoot as many different models as you can & find out what you like/dislike!

After that it's up to you.