Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Lackawanna County)

Default Dickson City and the illegal registry

I am not a lawyer. I have been thinking about the Dickson City affair for the last few days.

Pennsylvania law makes it illegal to create or operate a registry of firearms IE;

§ 6111.4. Registration of firearms.

Notwithstanding any section of this chapter to the contrary, nothing in this chapter shall be construed to allow any government or law enforcement agency or any agent thereof to create, maintain or operate any registry of firearm ownership within this Commonwealth. For the purposes of this section only, the term "firearm" shall include any weapon that is designed to or may readily be converted to expel any projectile by the action of an explosive or the frame or receiver of any such weapon.

It's one thing to use semantics to circumvent the law. Call it a database and not a registry. However this incident clearly indicates that local police departments have access to this data. This incident clearly indicates that local police departments use this database as a registry. Local police seem to think that if you firearm is not listed in this partial database they have cause to confiscate said firearm.

My point is this , If the police use the database as a registry, if the local police can call it a registry, then by God it is a registry. And it is ILLEGAL. That is the direction any lawsuit over the Dickson City affair should go.
    The state should be held accountable for disseminating information that is supposed to be confidential. I have heard names and serial numbers over the air on my police scanner many times. That is ILLEGAL!

The purpose of the database was supposed to facilitate the return of lost or stolen firearms to their rightful owners. The original purpose has been subverted for nefarious causes. The Pennsylvania State Police and Dickson City PD should be held to task for breaking state law with impunity