Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to AR

(Allegheny County)

Default New to AR

I'm looking to get an AR but have no experience. I have heard/read that it is more fun and less expensive to build my own, but again i have no experience. Would i be better off buying factory? Or is it reasonable that i could build my own? If it is reasonable where can i go to figure out what i'm doing??? Any help will be appreciated. Thanks
    Stump

(Bucks County)

Default Re: New to AR

If you go to http://www.ar15.com/forums/topic.htm...=636628&page=1 there is a group buy deal going on. You get everything you need except the stripped lower (which you can buy locally for like $175) for $609. I am contemplating it as I already own an AR.

(York County)

J&T distributing is on 8-12 week backorder for kits, but good people to deal with, otherwise. they sell kits from $500 up. a lower will cost you about $175 OTD these days, so your total is about $700. This same gun will sit in a vendor's rack at a show for $1050, lately.

the build takes about an hour, and can be seen on youtube, as well as a bunch of other places. with the kit as provided by J&T you can't get it wrong.

(Allegheny County)

It really depends on what you buy (parts wise) if it will be cheaper than buying a factory one. It usually is more expensive to build one in my mind because of the following:

When most newer people buy a factory AR they get the standard stock AR.

When you decide to build one, while researching places that actually have parts, it's very easy to say "Oh, I think I will add the magpul CTR stock, or I think I want a rail". All parts are incremental increases, so you really don't notice unless you track the prices of everything. When it's all said in done, you usually spend more on the build. Now, with all that said ... you will end up with a nicer rifle. So the absolute cost is more, but the relative cost is less.