Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: .303 or .308?

(Washington County)

Default .303 or .308?

So I'm looking at these Enfields. The .303 is about $30 cheaper than the same one in .308. I have no experience with the .303. But my larger concern is ammo availability. Right now, surplus for both is plentiful, but I have the feeling that the .303 will dry up, where as, if necessary, I can always buy new production .308. I have never fired an Enfield either way. Anybody have insight?

Hokkmike Guest

Default Re: .303 or .308?

Go with your gut feeling and the .308. I believe you are right.

(Delaware County)

There really is no more good 303 surplus left. The packy stuff is crap.

(Lancaster County)

You are comparing apples and oranges...somewhat. It depends what you are looking for. A true British Enfield in .303 is IMO better quality than the Indian Enfields in .303 (you can tell the difference in the nosecaps. British are rounded while Indian are squared.) I have both .303 versions. As far as .303 surplus, you can find some here and there but the quality is poor. Mostly click.....wait for it...BANG! stuff. And the .308 versions of the Enfields are Indian made. You can tell those by the difference in the mags...they are squared and have a mag plate. I know I am going to open a can of worms here but, the .308 versions were designed to fire the NATO 7.62 round with thicker brass and lower pressures. Commercial .308 has thinner brass with higher pressures meaning that you may have headspace issues with commercial. I believe the Enfield action will handle the higher pressures. I am sure other people can chime in here since I don't have a .308 Enfield. If you must shoot NATO 7.62, that surplus is also drying up. Which means you are kinda screwed either way. Prvi makes nice reloadable .303 which would sway me towards the British Enfield. I will admit I am biased though. Hope that helped.

(Washington County)