Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Allegheny County)

Default Need help/advice re: recent breakin.

Okay, so while away this past week, two people who I had checking on my apartment walked in and found someone snooping around. They stopped him, got his info, asked him to return whatever was stolen (which he did, sort of) and said that they would refer everything to me.

I'm a student, he's a student, I forwarded everything to the school's Police Department (we have a "real" police department e.g. UPenn police) who made a report and also filed one with the Philadelphia police. Among the things not returned are an expensive pair of sunglasses and my mailbox key (I'm in an apartment building.) I want to press charges against the joker because it's apparent that he forced his way into my apartment.

Now here's where I need help:

1. If I want to press charges, who pays for the lawyer? Do I have to supply my own lawyer? Or does the state (or city, Philadelphia) take care of it?

2. The police and I are under the impression that he and his accomplices are presently living in the same apartment building as me. Is there anything I can do to ensure my safety and well being? Presently I have deadbolt and my cuffs, baton and OC sitting at the door and I just installed a 120dB coded door alarm.

Any advice is appreciated!

My friends typed up a full report which I will post if there is genuine interest.

(Luzerne County)

Default Re: Need help/advice re: recent breakin.

If you press criminal charges against this person there is no need to hire a lawyer, unless you did something wrong. The DA is your lawyer.

But I need to see a copy of the police report because something smells like BS.

(Allegheny County)

This is the email I received while I was away, identifying information has been altered.

To CManzi,