Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Philadelphia County)

Default 5.56mm x45mm proficient or puny man stopper?

Hello everyone, I am a Infantry Officer in the U.S.Army and have a VERY serious question that I would like a very knowledgable person to answer. I have heard that the 5.56 is consider to be insufficient and does not incapacitate hostile targets and have heard stories of enemy combatants being shot mulitple times with 5.56 rounds and still being able to fire upon American forces and kill them! I have also heard that the 5.56mm is a extremely effective man stopper and is consider to be a "one hitter quiter". So as I new infantry officer who is about to go to combat for the first time, I would like to know just how effective is the 5.56mm x 45mm round is when it comes to stopping an enemy who is determined to kill you and you are trying to return the favorite. Allow me to thank you in advance for your response.

-Chris A. Fluellen
    2LT, IN
    U.S.Army

(Montgomery County)

Default Re: 5.56mm x45mm proficient or puny man stopper?

First of all, I want to thank you for your service. We all appreciate what you guys do.

Personally, I'm one of the guys that think shot placement means more to stopping someone than caliber. Don't get me wrong, a larger round such as 7.62 x 51 definitely packs more of a punch, and is probably the round I would choose in most situations - especially for long range, but 5.56 is still an effective round.

Proud member of:

You're going to see alot of different opinions, but that round has been taking it to the enemy since the 60-70s, we wouldn't still be using it if it wasn't effective.

(Philadelphia County)

Quote Originally Posted by Kaos View Post
    You're going to see alot of different opinions, but that round has been taking it to the enemy since the 60-70s, we wouldn't still be using it if it wasn't effective.