Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Default New Member Needs Some Info

Good Morning,

Actually, it just turned afternoon here. It's now 12:01pm.
    I am just getting started in reloading and have a couple of questions that will undoubtly appear stupid to some of you experienced reloaders, but if I don't ask, I won't know. #1: What is the difference in appearance and use of a full length die and a neck size die, and a seating/sizing die? It's sort of obvious that a seating die would be the one that seats the bullet in the case, but how about the other two? And #2, What is the need for an expensive powder measure when I could just scoop out some powder from the container and put it into a smaller container on the scale and add or remove until I get the weight that I'm supposed to have for that particular charge? I gurantee that I'll have more and hopefully I can get some answers without being flamed too bad and I can start this reloading process with some degree of confidence in what I'm doing. I've already purchased a single stage reloading kit but am just playing with the non-live parts of it now in an effort to get familiar with the individual pieces.
    Thanks in advance and I gurantee that all of my forthcoming posts will not be so long and drawn out. Thanks for letting someone SOUTH of the Mason-Dixon line into a Pennsylvania organization....
    Oleshot

(Jefferson County)

Default Re: New Member Needs Some Info

Quote Originally Posted by Oleshot View Post
    Good Morning,

Actually, it just turned afternoon here. It's now 12:01pm.