Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dressing well

(Berks County)

Default Dressing well

I went to target today OC with my XD9 on my hip. This was my very first OC experience. I have a LTCF also for transportation purposes.

I didn't notice much hubub around me though when I did walk into the store I was a little nervous.

Prior to leaving for my first OC trip I dressed in nice dress khakis and a very svelt red button down shirt tucked in with black belt and black shoes. I must say I felt sharp. I also did my hair to keep a professional look about me.

I really do think this helped keep eyes off of me. Passed many employees and others who surely noticed my weapon, but the fact that I had a basket full of food and nice attire resulted in others viewing me as not suspicious or dangerous.

Now I need some fliers. Also, the cashier asked me if I was a cop. I told him I had a LTCF but didnt go into detail as there was a line behind me and I didnt want to explain the OC PA law. Here fliers would help.

Anyone notice a difference when you dress sharp vs sloppy with how much heckling you receive?

(Erie County)

Default Re: Dressing well

Quote Originally Posted by Lothaen View Post
    I went to target today OC with my XD9 on my hip. This was my very first OC experience. I have a LTCF also for transportation purposes.

I didn't notice much hubub around me though when I did walk into the store I was a little nervous.

Prior to leaving for my first OC trip I dressed in nice dress khakis and a very svelt red button down shirt tucked in with black belt and black shoes. I must say I felt sharp. I also did my hair to keep a professional look about me.

I really do think this helped keep eyes off of me. Passed many employees and others who surely noticed my weapon, but the fact that I had a basket full of food and nice attire resulted in others viewing me as not suspicious or dangerous.