Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Philadelphia County)

Default Need some help with a pistol grip

Well, first of all, I'd like to say that I've been comin' to this website for some time, but this is my first time posting here.. so I'd like to thank ya for lookin' in on my question. I'm very proud to live in a state that is so dedicated to the right to bear arms.

Anyway, I purchased a Mossberg 500 tactical cruiser a few weeks ago. Very pleased with it. However, I purchased it with a pistol grip attached to it.. not a problem, but I want to replace it with a stock similar to this one. Increasingly annoying is that without taking the current grip off, I can not disassemble the weapon.

So, I go to take the grip off and run into a problem.. it won't come off. Haha. I purchased the weapon new, and this is the factory installed grip. It has a rather large screw on the rear of the grip which is supposed to be removed with an allen wrench. Writing Mossberg, they would tell me nothing more than it is to be removed with an allen wrench. I've tried a number of different wrenches, power drills.. I've tried to get it off with basically everything short of a pnuematic drill. I'm really at a loss that I can't figure this out. Is there maybe a trick I'm missing? Or should I head to a gunsmith? Anyone had a similar problem to this before?

Hopefully someone can give me a hand with this, because I'm pretty stuck on it. I'd certainly appreciate it.

Thanks

J
    Last edited by TheDoc; February 25th, 2007 at 05:29 AM. Reason: Typos

(Berks County)

Default Re: Need some help with a pistol grip

Wish you were closer to me, I probably have every darn size of allen wrench known to man, standard and metric.