Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Where liberty is but a flickering flame in the distance., New Jersey

Angry So it happened today

Boy oh boy. I have been OCing for about 3 months when meeting my FIL in North Philly. My FIL is coming from Jersey and gets off 95 to meet me. He saw my pistol yesterday and said something to my wife today. He was an MP in Viet Nam and has had several firearms (I don't think any he currently has are in working order). He said he didn't want to have me be hassled by the cops. My wife asked me to either cover it or leave it in the car when I meet her dad. I'm honestly torn here. I will slip a flier into the car seat so that her dad can read it tomorrow, but I'm just really annoyed.

It has taken my wife a little while to get used to the idea of me OCing. I want to respect her wishes, but I also do not want to compromise my ability to protect my son. I have wittnessed people shooting up in the parking lot we used to meet in which is just around the corner from where we meet. I have seen threads where people say "No way would I compromise" or "I just would refuse to do that" and it has always struck me as childish. If I can easilly cover my pistol fine, but when it is printing badly and obvious is that going to be enough or will I then need to leave it in the car so I don't make them uncomfortable? I mean the reality is we get free child care, I don't have to drive all the way to my in-law's house to pick him up. If I need to untuck my shirt and cover for the 10 minutes I see my in-laws is that really such a big deal? Maybe it is just that I wish my wife was more supportive of my right and decision.

(Huntingdon County)

Default Re: So it happened today

Like a lot of these other posts, I am sure it will open up a can of worms, but it always raises good points.