Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Chester County)

Default Trim length question

I am new to reloading. I have been make rounds now for about 3 months and having good results. My question is trim length. How exact do you need to be? My 223 rem trim length from the hornady book says 1.750.

I have some brass as low as 1.740 can I use it? Even if not for match loads but blasting ammo.

I would also like to know if my brass is 1.760(max length) can I use it?

I would also like to know is there a general rule to have a trim length range?

Default Re: Trim length question

A trim length guage is not a necessity it is handy. I would get one unless you have a micrometer. Exceding the max length can cause very high chamber pressuresand problems chambering the round. Short cases may not have the same neck tension as a longer one but the difference will not normally be seen. If you are not playing benchrest games most of the precision loading steps are a waste.
    Courage is being scared to death--but saddling up any way. John Wayne

(Bucks County)

Quote Originally Posted by phill View Post
    A trim length guage is not a necessity it is handy. I would get one unless you have a micrometer. Exceding the max length can cause very high chamber pressuresand problems chambering the round. Short cases may not have the same neck tension as a longer one but the difference will not normally be seen. If you are not playing benchrest games most of the precision loading steps are a waste.

I agree. I keep all my oals around 10-15 thousands short of moal. Ex: The .38s I just loaded have a moal of 1.155". My oal was 1.145.

(Berks County)

I keep all my .223 brass between 1.750-1.755 I just have a cheap hornady trimmer with a drill adapter and I can knock them out farly fast with that.

(Susquehanna County)