Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Allegheny County)

Default Need direction & advice on AR platform.

I will preface this with the fact I have spent about 3 days searching. Trying to catch up, but I have to be terribly honest. Some of the legalese, and interpretation makes me just scratch my head. So I'm a super noob. Be as evil as you like, answers are more important to me than delivery.

I know it has been mentioned the AR platform is "snobby" or only pursued because people see them on TV. But I normally buy based on modability and healthy aftermarket. The same reasons I buy cars. Which is my profession. And I've just never been a big AK guy. This is just to start, not saying I wouldn't be interested in just about anything. I am considering building it, for personal satisfaction and knowledge gained by starting with a pile of parts. And ending with a gun.

Not an NFA / SBR project.

Can I order parts from anywhere? (Such as out of state) Are their any legal aspects I need to be aware of?

Something fun to shoot for me and the wifey. She's small. 5'3 100lbs. So I was thinking of a 16" barrel and focusing on keeping it as light as possible. But also maintaining simplicity and sane cost where possible.

I've been looking at some of the kits. But still reading on what works best with what... and making a picture in my head of a finished product.

Or should I buy a complete one to start and build later.

?
    Last edited by Asmodeus6; June 15th, 2008 at 11:32 PM.

(Lawrence County)

Default Re: Need direction & advice legal & platform.

Lightweight 16" build. A decent brake/flash suppressor. Anything else and she may struggle...

But.....don't take my word for it....let her shoot some.

If it won't run.....I'll help fix it.

I taught Chuck Norris to bump-fire.

(Dauphin County)

Default Re: Need direction & advice on AR platform.

Quote Originally Posted by Asmodeus6 View Post